image description

Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru in Economic Alliance

Go Back
April 28, 2011

Associated Press

The presidents of Mexico, Colombia, Chile and Peru signed an agreement Thursday expressing their commitment to pursue integration of their economies and a strengthening of trade links with the Asia-Pacific region. The four leaders said the envisioned trade alliance — which Panama and Ecuador could possibly also join — would be the biggest trade zone in Latin America, surpassing the Mercosur common market of Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay. "Our four nations, and Panama in the near future, represent 200 million people.